https://journals.wco.pl/los/issue/feed Letters in Oncology Science 2020-10-15T07:50:36+02:00 Wiktoria Suchorska wiktoria.suchorska@wco.pl Open Journal Systems <p><em>Letters in Oncology Science</em> is an interdisciplinary quarterly journal of the Oncology Centre of Wielkopolska (Polonia Major) Region, aimed at researchers and practicing specialist physicians engaged in studies in the following areas:</p> <ul> <li class="show"><strong>oncology</strong>,&nbsp;</li> <li class="show"><strong>diagnostics of oncologic diseases</strong>,&nbsp;</li> <li class="show"><strong>planning treatment of oncologic diseases</strong>,&nbsp;</li> <li class="show"><strong>radiotherapy</strong>,&nbsp;</li> <li class="show"><strong>chemotherapy</strong>,&nbsp;</li> <li class="show"><strong>immunotherapy</strong>,&nbsp;</li> <li class="show"><strong>dosimetry</strong>,&nbsp;</li> <li class="show"><strong>nuclear medicine</strong>,&nbsp;</li> <li class="show"><strong>research of cancer biology,</strong></li> <li class="show"><strong>molecular biology of cancer,</strong></li> <li class="show"><strong>oncologic care,</strong></li> <li class="show"><strong>radiobiology,</strong></li> <li class="show"><strong>physiotherapy.</strong></li> </ul> https://journals.wco.pl/los/article/view/183 The utility of the 18F-FDG PET/CT in the primary and metastatic brain lesions diagnosis 2020-10-15T07:50:36+02:00 Adrianna Medak adrianna.medak@op.pl Julia Wojtowicz julia.wojtowicz@stud.umed.lodz.pl Katarzyna Pietrasz katarzyna.pietrasz@wco.pl Witold Cholewiński witoldc@onet.pl Beata Pisarska beata.pisarska@wco.pl Aleksandra Heydrych aleksandra.heydrych@wco.pl Krzysztof Matuszewski krzysztof.matuszewski@wco.pl Hubert Szweda hubert.szweda@wco.pl Patrycja Mantaj patrycja.mantaj@wco.pl Kamila Urbaniak kamila.urbaniak@wco.pl Katarzyna Wiecheć k.wiechec@interia.eu Agata Karolina Pietrzak agata.pietrzakk@gmail.com <p>The study aims to show that despite the non-tumor-specific properties of the radiopharmaceutical 2-deoxy-2-[<sup>18</sup>F]fluoro-D-glucose (<sup>18</sup>F-FDG), performing the <sup>18</sup>F-FDG positron emission tomography/computed tomography (PET/CT) might help to detect primary and metastatic brain lesions, which can significantly affect treatment and quality of life of the oncological patients’.</p> 2020-09-22T07:49:37+02:00 Copyright (c) 2020 Letters in Oncology Science https://journals.wco.pl/los/article/view/145 Prostate cancer – what is the best therapy we should treat our patients with. 2020-10-14T18:54:12+02:00 Monika Włodek niemonika@interia.pl <pre style="text-align: justify; text-justify: inter-ideograph;"><span style="font-size: 12.0pt; font-family: 'Times New Roman','serif';">Prostate cancer is still a serious problem in the modern world. During the 36<sup>th</sup> ESTRO conference an attempt was made to determine which therapy is the best for patients suffering from this disease. Particular attention has been paid to the correct determination of the severity of the disease - according to the European Association of Urology (EAU) - which is the basis to treat patients in a proper way. The attention was also paid to the use of hypofractionaction and spacers used to healthy tissues protection.</span></pre> <p>&nbsp;</p> 2020-09-30T07:22:00+02:00 Copyright (c) 2020 Letters in Oncology Science https://journals.wco.pl/los/article/view/178 The utility of the PET/CT method in Hodking’s lymphoma diagnosis 2020-10-14T18:54:38+02:00 Roksana Zając roksana.zajac4@gmail.com Agata Karolina Pietrzak agata.pietrzakk@gmail.com Witold Cholewiński witoldc@onet.pl <p>Hodgkin's lymphoma (HL) is one of the most common malignancies in young adults. The method of choice in the HL detection and staging is the positron emission tomography/computed tomography using the radiopharmaceutical <br> <sup>18</sup>F-flurodeoxyglucose (<sup>18</sup>F-FDG PET/CT) examination. The <sup>18</sup>F-FDG PET/CT study has been considered useful in the evaluation of the treatment effectiveness. The HL therapy aims to cure the disease and ensure the lowest toxicity possible, thus, the detailed diagnostic management using advanced methods of imaging seems to be of value.</p> 2020-09-22T07:54:31+02:00 Copyright (c) 2020 Letters in Oncology Science